Kinook Software Forums

Kinook Software Forums (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [UR] General Discussion (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   copy web pages (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=3561)

janrif 04-09-2008 09:26 AM

copy web pages
 
I don't understand why various programs -- Evernote & others -- can copy all kinds of web pages w/o issue yet UR cannot yet copy an https page type. This is getting silly. I still have to resort to scrapbook for that kind of work, then link those pages to URp which is a pain.

In the same silly vein, I still wonder why when user wants to clip to particular place via systray, the entire program comes to the foreground. IMO, this sort of undercuts the reason for having systray commands in the first place.

Oh well.

kinook 04-09-2008 10:09 AM

Selecting all (Ctrl+A) before importing usually works to capture secure pages, pages requiring login, etc.

The UR window will only be displayed if 'Tools | Options | Import | Select location when importing or pasting from other applications' is checked.

janrif 04-09-2008 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by kinook
Selecting all (Ctrl+A) before importing usually works to capture secure pages, pages requiring login, etc.
As text, sometimes not formatted correctly. Try evernote & you'll see the difference.

Quote:

The UR window will only be displayed if 'Tools | Options | Import | Select location when importing or pasting from other applications' is checked.
Exactly my point. If I wanted to see UR in the foreground, I would switch to in the task manaqer & paste in specific location.

kinook 04-09-2008 12:19 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by janrif
As text, sometimes not formatted correctly. Try evernote & you'll see the difference.
I get text and formatting with UR.
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=2798

Quote:

Exactly my point. If I wanted to see UR in the foreground, I would switch to in the task manaqer & paste in specific location.
Then what's the problem? Keep that option unchecked and UR will only display if/when you explicitly activate it.

janrif 04-09-2008 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by kinook
I get text and formatting with UR.
http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=2798
In original post. I cite https sites

Quote:

Then what's the problem? Keep that option unchecked and UR will only display if/when you explicitly activate it.
The 'problem' is that UR should paste to the location in the background whether I select an explicit location or just use +V.

kinook 04-10-2008 07:25 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by janrif
In original post. I cite https sites
Works there too. I tried with 5 different secured sites and select all in IE imported into UR with images and formatting.

janrif 04-10-2008 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by kinook
Works there too. I tried with 5 different secured sites and select all in IE imported into UR with images and formatting.
Not here. Sent avi to illustrate to support email. Will look forward to your reply. Thank you.

kinook 04-10-2008 04:38 PM

It looks like a Firefox issue/limitation. Again, see http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...threadid=2798. And importing the page from Firefox to Evernote looks the same as in UR.

Navigating to https://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Cu...erCentral.html in IE, select all, and import into UR works well and looks the same as the original page in IE. Conversely, formatting in Evernote imported from IE looks about the same as the Firefox import.

Tested with Win XP SP2, IE7, Firefox 2.0.0.13, UR 3.2.6, and Evernote 2.2.1.386.

janrif 04-10-2008 04:48 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by kinook
It looks like a Firefox issue/limitation. [snip]
Navigating to https://www.comcast.com/Corporate/Cu...erCentral.html in IE, select all, and import into UR works well and looks the same as the original page in IE. [/snip]

True enough.
Tested on w2k-sp4, ie6, current beta
Thanks.

quant 06-15-2008 05:24 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Sorry for hijacking this thread.

The copying of web pages to UR still leaves a lot to be desired. Hopefully, Kinook can get it right by improving it steps by step. I'm attaching one example.

This is how UR stores the following webpage to UR (using firefox with UR buttons):

http://cambridge.org/us/catalogue/ca...=9780521539371

quant 06-15-2008 05:27 AM

1 Attachment(s)
and this is how it looks like (and how it should look like) if I first store the webpage with scrapbook (ctrl+shift+L) and then store it by clicking on UR buttons in firefox. Why cannot UR get it right directly? :(

ashwken 06-16-2008 09:19 AM

Yes, there are sites that will not copy correctly even when using Ctrl-A.

Ran into this over the weekend at Wikipedia, even though everything in the browser is selected, only the text frame content is copied - the side and top frames don't make it to UR. I had to resort to Save As to .mht from within IE.

From Wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pri...ide_%28film%29

Yet other sites that use frames will be copied w/o problem. Granted there are a myriad ways to employ frames and various methods to achieve layout, but as a user it's difficult to know which sites are going to come thru w/o problems.

jjinwi 06-17-2008 05:57 PM

FYI... I captured both problem webpages perfectly with Web Research 3.0.

I really wish UR used the same approach as WR to capture webpages.

jdk 06-25-2008 06:39 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by jjinwi
FYI... I captured both problem webpages perfectly with Web Research 3.0.

I really wish UR used the same approach as WR to capture webpages.

This is the reason I hesitate to use UR as my main "data dump". In all other respects, I think it's the best program out there in its category, but its inability to capture all web pages and snippets with complete accuracy (and quickly) has been a stumbling block. As others have said in other threads, with UR you have to check every capture. With other programs you don't.

I occasionally stop by the forum to see if things have changed, but going by this thread, it seems not.

UR developers have said in this forum that the problem is caused by Firefox doing a poor job of copying the HTML to the clipboard. That may be the case, but other programs capture Firefox pages flawlessly. The Firefox add-on Scrapbook, mentioned above, is one example..

You mention Web Research. Yes, it does a great job. Why? It uses the saving engine in Scrapbook (if installed) to import. In effect I guess they're simply doing what Quant does in his post above.

Maybe UR could borrow this approach? I imagine it could be as simple as a script that says: temporarily copy page to Scrapbook; copy from Scrapbook to UR; delete from Scrapbook.

If it works for Web Research I can't see why it wouldn't work for UR.

ashwken 06-25-2008 12:59 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by jdk
Maybe UR could borrow this approach? I imagine it could be as simple as a script that says: temporarily copy page to Scrapbook; copy from Scrapbook to UR; delete from Scrapbook.

This is not a Firefox only problem, see my post above.

It may not be clear in that post but I could not save the wiki page properly using IE, I had to resort to Save As to .mht to get a true representation of the page. Unfortunately this method leaves you with only a local copy of the page, you lose the reference to the orignal url and it involves several more steps than simply sending to UR from the browser.

I don't fully understand why saving to .mht is subsantially different than whatever UR is doing to Store a copy.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.