Kinook Software Forums

Kinook Software Forums (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] General Discussion (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   How do I upgrade from 32-bit to 64-bit? (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=5480)

ark014 02-15-2017 04:40 PM

How do I upgrade from 32-bit to 64-bit?
 
How do I upgrade from a VBP 9.2 32-bit, to a VBP 9.4 64-bit?

A) I have seen that I can smoothly upgrade from VBP 9.2 (32-bit), to VBP 9.4 (32-bit), on my laptop. The VBP 9.4 (32-bit) simply overwrites the VBP 9.2 (32-bit). My license info on my laptop's VBP is retained.

B) Our build server was recently upgraded to be 64-bit.

Can I safely install VBP 9.4 (64-bit) on top of the VBP 9.2 (32-bit) that we currently use in our build servers?

Or must I first uninstall VBP 9.2 (32-bit) from our build server, and the download VBP 9.4 (64-bit) to our build server?

If changing from VBP 32-bit to a VBP 64-bit is there a risk that the license info for the VBP on our build server will be lost?

kinook 02-15-2017 10:07 PM

You don't need to uninstall the 32-bit edition first. The default installation path is different (C:\Program Files vs C:\Program Files (x86)) and both can be installed side-by-side. If you don't uninstall the 32-bit edition, you should not need to register again when installing the 64-bit edition.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.