Kinook Software Forum

Kinook Software Forum (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] Third Party Tools (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Set temp macro from result of Run SQL action (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=5102)

raghuk 10-29-2012 02:39 PM

Set temp macro from result of Run SQL action
 
Hello,

I have a need to set a local variable macro based on if the database exists or not.

I have the following query in "Run SQL" action.

if db_id('%CurrentDatabaseName%') is null
BEGIN
-- ???? STEP TO set local variable which effectively says 'NO DB'
END

How can I achieve this?

Thanks!

raghuk 10-29-2012 02:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by raghuk (Post 19997)
Hello,

I have a need to set a local variable macro based on if the database exists or not.

I have the following query in "Run SQL" action.

if db_id('%CurrentDatabaseName%') is null
BEGIN
-- ???? STEP TO set local variable which effectively says 'NO DB'
END

How can I achieve this?

Thanks!

In fact, if there is an "expression" that I could use to call this I would love that so that I can use the expression in "Build only if macro or expression" is true!

Thank you!

kinook 10-29-2012 06:32 PM

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189484.aspx

raghuk 10-30-2012 10:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kinook (Post 19999)

Thanks :), I am aware of the T-SQL syntax and I'm sure this is not the forum to discuss T-SQL issues.

The real question being, how do I set the value from T-SQL variable back to a macro defined within Visual Build Pro?

Thanks again!

kinook 10-30-2012 10:56 AM

Print the variable's value, parse it out of the LASTSTEP_OUTPUT macro value, and store in a macro.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...SQL.90%29.aspx
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...riptevents.htm

raghuk 10-31-2012 11:29 AM

Thank you! You are amazing as always!

raghuk 08-20-2013 05:54 PM

name
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Music_log




Hello,

When I run the SQL to assign it to a variable, above is the output that I get from SQL. How do I parse to get only "Music_log"?

Thank you!

kinook 08-20-2013 09:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
See the attached sample.

Shiamak 09-04-2013 06:22 PM

Do you have this .bld sample for v7.7 pro?

kinook 09-04-2013 07:07 PM

No, but it might work if you change the version in the .bld file (in a text editor) from 8 to 7.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.