Kinook Software Forums

Kinook Software Forums (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] General Discussion (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Log level for console vs. log file (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=5315)

raistlin 11-18-2014 10:08 AM

Log level for console vs. log file
 
Hi Kinook,

I have searched around in the forums to look for more information about how logging works and haven't found much concrete info about it.

In general, i read these 2 links below and still a little confused.
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...ildlogging.htm
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...putuseropt.htm

Last week i started to mess around with logging by minimizing the amount of logs produced by the console with /loglevel and succeeded. However the side effects of it were loosing the ability to log to file. I log file by passing LOGFILE macro to child bld scripts.

Is there anywhere that specifically says, which loglevel will / will not log to file? Thanks.

kinook 11-18-2014 11:18 AM

http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...elproperty.htm

raistlin 11-19-2014 03:35 AM

Thanks. I used the link above for /loglevel. But how can i achieve /loglevel vbldLogLevelWarning + but still able to log with vbldLogLevelDetailed to LOGFILE?

kinook 11-19-2014 08:13 AM

Set Tools | Application Options | Logging (More) | Log level to Detailed and specify /loglevel 1 when calling visbuildcmd.
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...ingmoreopt.htm
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Manual/consoleapp.htm

raistlin 11-21-2014 06:01 AM

Thanks Kinook. This works but it requires me to parse /logfile _filename_.

Code:

visbuildcmd Test.bld /loglevel 1 /logfile Test.log
I wish to use the LOGFILE macro already defined in the bld script, also when i parse LOGFILE macro in the command line, but omitting the /logfile parameter:

Code:

visbuildcmd Test.bld /loglevel 1 LOGFILE=%PROJDIR%\BuildLogs\%PROJROOT%.log
Is it possible? Thanks.

kinook 11-21-2014 06:59 AM

/logfile filename and LOGFILE=filename are equivalent. Both have the effect of defining a LOGFILE temporary macro which is available in the build.
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...ildlogging.htm
http://www.kinook.com/VisBuildPro/Ma...stemmacros.htm

raistlin 11-21-2014 08:52 AM

1 Attachment(s)
According to my tests, these 2 command lines gives different results:

Does not produce log file:
Code:

c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts>visbuildcmd Test.bld /mta /loglevel 0 /config VisBuildPro.config LOGFILE=%PROJROOT%.log /nologo
21-11-2014 14:23:32: Starting Build: 'c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts\Test.bld'
21-11-2014 14:23:32: Building project step 'Project steps'...
21-11-2014 14:23:32: Building project step 'Log Message'...
LOGFILE=
21-11-2014 14:23:32: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).

Produces log file:
Code:

c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts>visbuildcmd Test.bld /mta /loglevel 0 /config VisBuildPro.config /LOGFILE %PROJROOT%.log /nologo
21-11-2014 14:24:28: Starting Build: 'c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts\Test.bld'
21-11-2014 14:24:28: Building project step 'Project steps'...
21-11-2014 14:24:28: Building project step 'Log Message'...
LOGFILE=c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts\Test.log
21-11-2014 14:24:28: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).

VisBuildPro.config used:
Code:



       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

This was my question earlier, i prefer to use LOGFILE=%PROJROOT%.log macro which i can define it in the bld file instead of parsing /logfile %PROJROOT%.log.

kinook 11-21-2014 09:46 AM

You found a bug. If the /loglevel parameter was specified and /logfile was not, the LOGFILE=value parameter was ignored and the LOGFILE macro set to an empty string instead. This is fixed in the latest download (VisBuildCmd.exe 8.7.0.3 in Help | About after installing). Sorry for not noticing the issue when you first posted. Thanks.

raistlin 11-24-2014 05:01 AM

Thanks for the quickfix. I had it installed and it creates log files. Yay.

I have another question regarding the difference i see.

The logfile is generated at the script directory, c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts:
Code:

c:\Builds\Source>visbuildcmd BuildScripts\Test.bld /mta /loglevel 0 /config BuildScripts\VisBuildPro.config LOGFILE=%PROJROOT%.log /nologo
24-11-2014 10:54:36: Starting Build: 'c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts\Test.bld'
24-11-2014 10:54:36: Building project step 'Project steps'...
24-11-2014 10:54:36: Building project step 'Log Message'...
LOGFILE=Test.log
24-11-2014 10:54:36: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).

The logfile is generated at my current directory, c:\Builds\Source:
Code:

c:\Builds\Source>visbuildcmd BuildScripts\Test.bld /mta /loglevel 0 /config BuildScripts\VisBuildPro.config /LOGFILE %PROJROOT%.log /nologo
24-11-2014 10:55:12: Starting Build: 'c:\Builds\Source\BuildScripts\Test.bld'
24-11-2014 10:55:12: Building project step 'Project steps'...
24-11-2014 10:55:12: Building project step 'Log Message'...
LOGFILE=c:\Builds\Source\Test.log
24-11-2014 10:55:12: Build successfully completed (elapsed = 00:00:00).

Since you said LOGFILE macro and /logfile param are equivalent, the generated logfile path is a little inconsistent.

kinook 11-24-2014 07:30 AM

True, they're not exactly equivalent. When LOGFILE=filename is used, the value provided is assigned to the macro value. When /logfile is used, it does convert relative paths (via the GetFullPathName API) as it also does for other file/path parameters (.bld filename, /configpath, etc.). It's probably best to specify an absolute path to remove any ambiguity (i.e., %PROJDIR% for the path of the .bld file, %~dp0 to use the calling command script's path, a hard-coded path, etc.).

raistlin 11-24-2014 09:45 AM

Roger that. Thanks alot for the support!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.