Kinook Software Forums

Kinook Software Forums (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [UR] Suggestions (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Splitting windows (http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=1333)

dspady 10-26-2005 01:14 PM

Splitting windows
 
Is it possible to split the item window and the data explorer window so that 2 parts of the document can be seen and edited at the same time?

kevina 11-02-2005 05:59 PM

That's not possible with the built-in RTF editor. But if you use a Word document or rtf template [1] instead for your "rich text" items, Word (or other rtf editors) do support window splitting.

Note: currently you can't use an external editor (or Word internally in the browser view) for internal Text Info Items, which is why you need to use an alternate template based on the document template (as described above). This limitation will be removed with version 1.4, allowing a user to edit any .rtf within Ultra Recall (with MS Word in the internal browser view) or externally with your associated .rtf editor.

[1] http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthre...?threadid=1203

dspady 11-06-2005 02:19 PM

While that will be a useful addition, it is not quite what I meant.
What I want to be able to split is two PARTS of a database, not 2 parts of an item, each with an item window. Will that be possible.

kinook 11-06-2005 09:38 PM

It is on the list for a future release to provide a tabbed interface for quick switching between multiple items (ala Firefox tabs), but even with that, there won't be any way to show/edit the details of two different items on the screen simultaneously (without switching between tabs).

pawe 01-13-2007 07:44 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by kinook
It is on the list for a future release to provide a tabbed interface for quick switching between multiple items (ala Firefox tabs), but even with that, there won't be any way to show/edit the details of two different items on the screen simultaneously (without switching between tabs).
...which would be a great feature for a future release, to be able to compare or text copy-paste between two different items!

dspady 02-26-2008 10:47 AM

Is there any thought to even considering having a split window. Switching between tabs is nice, but it is better to be able to SEE two windows at once. This is very useful when writing or doing research and making notes. It is not the same as using item notes, because those notes are linked to a specific item.

csleech 04-13-2018 10:42 AM

I know this is an old thread (10 years). Has window splitting ever been implemented? I would like to take two tabs and place them side by side to work. I have not found a way to do this... Essentially, what I am looking for is similar to that in Visual Studio where you can take two code windows and pane them side by side. This is a large performance drain having to bounce from tab to tab.

kinook 04-13-2018 10:48 AM

Here's one way.

https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthr...1599#post21599

And another

https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthr...4395#post14395


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Copyright 1999-2019 Kinook Software, Inc.