Kinook Software Forum

Kinook Software Forum (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/index.php)
-   [VBP] Third Party Tools (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Is it possible to compile VB projects and VC projects referencing each other ? (https://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=186)

remy.gonzalez 09-05-2003 02:35 AM

Is it possible to compile VB projects and VC projects referencing each other ?
 
We have nearly 500 VBP and 150 dsp in our software project.
Some VBP reference VC++ binaries.
Some DSP reference VB binaries too.

Can Visual Build Pro find the build sequence of such software ?

Visual Build Pro seams to build VB projects separately from DSP Projects.

Waiting for your answer.

kinook 09-05-2003 08:03 AM

No. VBP is pretty smart, but it's not omniscient :^). You would need to manually segment your projects into at least 3 workspaces/groups that ensure the proper build order:

1. VB group of projects with no dependencies on VC projects
2. VC workspace of projects with dependencies on #1
3. VB group of projects with dependencies on #2

remy.gonzalez 09-11-2003 08:13 AM

Thank you for your response.

Now we know better visual build pro, we plan to build C++ sources in a DSW and then all VBP in a VBG.

We plan to loop this two compilations (ignoring fails of course) until the amount of error doesn't decrease.

This solution seems easier because only few dsp reference VB binaries.

Is it possible to do this loop with visual build pro ?

For the DSW, all dsp do not compile with the same configuration. How is it possible to do that ?

Best regards,

Remy.

remy.gonzalez 09-11-2003 08:21 AM

Thank you for your response.

Now we know better visual build pro, we plan to build C++ sources in a DSW and then all VBP in a VBG.

We plan to loop this two compilations (ignoring fails of course) until the amount of error doesn't decrease.

This solution seems easier because only few dsp reference VB binaries.

Is it possible to do this loop with visual build pro ?

For the DSW, all dsp do not compile with the same configuration. How is it possible to do that ?

Best regards,

Remy.

kinook 09-17-2003 06:42 AM

I suppose you could do it that way (using a repeating build rule [see the Advanced.bld sample] and tracking the steps' LASTSTEP_STATUS macros), but I wouldn't recommend it.

For a multi-project DSW, to build a specific configuration, that configuration must exist in all projects of the workspace. VC7 adds the concept of a solution configuration, where different project configurations can be tied to a solution config, but no such thing exists in VC6.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.