PDA

View Full Version : Phrase Search and advanced searching

Sean Siler
01-22-2005, 11:34 AM
Well, I'm a new user and loving UR. As an IT Consultant, I have lots (and lots) of documents, web pages, etc that I have now organized into topic folders in UR. This works great. [Thanks!]

My question (and boy, do I feel silly): How do I perform a phrase search? Is it possible? I know the searches are keyword based, but I would love to be able to search for "RPC over HTTP" rather than 'RPC' and 'over' and "HTTP'. Any ideas?

Also, since I am admitting my investigatorial inadequacies, the entire concept of advanced searching completely escapes me. I've read the user's manual, but Vamp07's 'Filtering searches from searches' post was effectively written in Farsi, it was so beyond me.

Has anyone done an advanced search tutorial, by chance?

Any advice or assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

xja
01-22-2005, 01:00 PM
just put the search term in quotes, either in Quick Search or in the Value column in Advanced Search (I notice that if you put the search term in quotes in Quick Search, then switch to Advanced Search, it shows the term enclosed in asterisks.. makes sense).

I think it is really cool the way the search results in Quick Search update as you type!

Sean Siler
01-22-2005, 01:23 PM
I have tried quotes, but keep coming up with no hits, so I figured I was doing it wrong.

xja
01-22-2005, 02:31 PM
hmm. don't know what could be wrong. it works for me (I'm using version 1.1 in case that matters). type your search in Quick Search and then click "Advanced" and you will see exactly how it is doing the search. However, if you haven't figured out how the Advanced Search works, then it might not be that meaningful to you.

Sean Siler
01-22-2005, 03:16 PM
Well, I'm feeling pretty stupid right now.

I've created a text item called test1, and typed in the words "Mickey Mouse" (withouth the quotes) as the only words on the text entry.