Kinook Software Forums

Go Back   Kinook Software Forums > Ultra Recall > [UR] General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:29 AM
UltraUser UltraUser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-31-2006
Posts: 25
Angry My first crash

Hello,

I'm sorry I have to report my first crash of UltraRecall. I'm using version 3.2.2.2 (released on 9.21) and not doing anything fancy: no inline editing of complex documents, no outside editing of stored COM documents, no multi-tabbing, no nothing.

Just adding task items to a folder. I first had a "not enough memory" error. I clicked back on the folder, UR thought I was trying to rename and said "not enough memory to rename".
Then UR became unresponsive and finally, the crash, which produced the attached report file.

The database is okay. Compacting operation didn't generate any error.

Bon courage...
Attached Files
File Type: txt appcompat.txt (18.2 KB, 410 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:41 AM
UltraUser UltraUser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-31-2006
Posts: 25
Second error message minutes later, things are getting more interesting...

Actually, the operation I do is adding tasks as I said to a folder. I have a bunch of them to create, so I go hit insert (the folder is configured to have "tasks" as the default child item), then enter the task name then Enter.

It's the hit insert that triggers the unhandled exception. But UR didn't close. So I have attempted another hit insert, and this time, the message is "Error creating item: library routine called out of sequence".

I actually have to close everything and start again. What the hell is happening here?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:10 PM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,136
First crash since purchasing UR 14 months ago is pretty good. Is the problem still occurring? Does it happen immediately after opening the database? Does it occur in a brand new database? Does restarting the computer help? Did you recently install or update any software, Windows Updates, or make any other changes to Windows? Which version/SP of Windows are you running? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2007, 01:13 PM
UltraUser UltraUser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-31-2006
Posts: 25
"First crash since purchasing UR 14 months ago is pretty good"
-> That's hardly a selling point. Anyway, I must admit I haven't used UR all along.

"Is the problem still occurring?"
-> No. Each time I enter a new task, I restart UR! ;-)

"Does it happen immediately after opening the database?"
-> No. I can do some work before it does.

"Does it occur in a brand new database?"
-> The DB was created with the 3.2.2 release indeed

"Does restarting the computer help?"
-> Sorry?

"Did you recently install or update any software, Windows Updates, or make any other changes to Windows?"
-> That's a rather broad question. Imagine if I answer "yes", you're nor getting better for it. But actually no, I did none of these.

"Which version/SP of Windows are you running?"
-> XP SP 2

"Thanks"
-> You're welcome. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:30 AM
UltraUser UltraUser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-31-2006
Posts: 25
Hello,

Still no answer on this one. I confirm the error is also happening with version 3.2.3.

Steps to reproduce:
- Select a folder that has "default child" set to "Task"
- Hit the "Inser" key: this will create a new task. Enter some details for this task
- Move back to the parent folder

Repeat these steps a few times (like 10 to 20). Then you'll have:
- A first message complaining about some out of memory condition (on a dual proc with 1GB and just Lotus Notes + UR running...)
- Then an Access Violation. Last time it happened it was in ntdll.dll at address 0x77F57D85, offset 0x00007D85

===================
Ultra Recall Professional 3.2.3
Evaluation Version: 52 days remaining
Windows version: 5.1.2600.1.0
Install path: C:\Tools\UltraRecall
EncryptPDF.dll version 3.0.0.2
mimepp.dll version 3.0.4
pdf2txt.dll version 3.1.0.4
PolarSpellChecker.dll version 4.0.5.4
SftPrintPreview_IX86_U_10.dll version 1.05
SftTree_IX86_U_50.dll version 5.06
UltraRecall.exe version 3.2.3.0
unins000.exe version 51.46.0.0
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsftEdit.dll version 5.41.15.1511
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RichEd20.dll version 5.30.23.1227
Database filename: E:\Docs\MyDocs\UR\Test.urd
Database version: 3.0.13 [9/18/2007 8:59:55 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:57 AM
Jon Polish Jon Polish is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-21-2006
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by UltraUser
Hello,

Still no answer on this one. I confirm the error is also happening with version 3.2.3.

Steps to reproduce:
- Select a folder that has "default child" set to "Task"
- Hit the "Inser" key: this will create a new task. Enter some details for this task
- Move back to the parent folder

Repeat these steps a few times (like 10 to 20). Then you'll have:
- A first message complaining about some out of memory condition
I tried this and cannot confirm on my end. UR behaves normally.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2007, 11:58 AM
quant's Avatar
quant quant is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 11-30-2006
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally posted by UltraUser
[B]Steps to reproduce:
- Select a folder that has "default child" set to "Task"
- Hit the "Inser" key: this will create a new task. Enter some details for this task
- Move back to the parent folder

Repeat these steps a few times (like 10 to 20). Then you'll have:
- A first message complaining about some out of memory condition (on a dual proc with 1GB and just Lotus Notes + UR running...)
- Then an Access Violation. Last time it happened it was in ntdll.dll at address 0x77F57D85, offset 0x00007D85
I tried but doesn't create an error here ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2007, 03:02 PM
UltraUser UltraUser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-31-2006
Posts: 25
Thanks Jon and Quant for taking the time to try this on your side.
I guess that there's something else coming into play then...
It's a little bit annoying, but so far, I haven't lose any data because of this bug.
So that's okay, I'll continue to chase it down.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-01-2007, 03:20 AM
UltraUser UltraUser is online now
Registered User
 
Join Date: 10-31-2006
Posts: 25
Smile No further same crash with 3.2.4.2

I'm pleased to report that since I've switched to the latest version, I have not been able to reproduce the "out of memory" and AV errors I was routinely experiencing when creating task items.

So whatever has been done - thanks a lot for this Kinook, and keep up the good work!

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999-2013 Kinook Software, Inc.