Kinook Software Forum

Go Back   Kinook Software Forum > Visual Build Professional > [VBP] General Discussion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2012, 09:35 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,027
In v8, the default for that property is unchecked. You can copy, paste, and rebuild this step in a project to set the property to true/checked for all steps:

Code:
<step action='Run Script'>
	<Language>VBScript</Language>
	<Script><![CDATA[' process all steps in project
For i = 0 To vbldStepSubroutine
	' iterate over all steps in the collection
	For Each s In Project.Steps(i)
		' set to build failure steps on failure
		s.Property("buildfailsteps") = True
	Next
Next]]></Script>
	<name>Set failure option</name>
</step>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2012, 10:24 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Ok thanks for the script, I am still a little confused. This is just so I can understand the way it stores data.

If the default value for this is to be unchecked, than based off what you said I shouldnt see a value stored in the BLD file, viewing it in a text editor, because this is the default value.

What I am seeing is that if its set to the default of uncheck it stores this value in the BLD file and if its checked which is opposited the default the tag is not stored.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2012, 10:50 AM
kinook kinook is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: 03-06-2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 6,027
Legacy code is the short explanation. The long explanation: Because the default value for this property used to be true, that is still the "default" as used to determine whether to store the value in the .bld file. When inserting a new step, the step's buildfailstep property is explicitly set to false (the new "real" default), and this value gets stored in the .bld file since it is not the "default" as described above. If the step is checked, it has the old "default" value which does not get stored in the file.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2012, 11:41 AM
HippyCraig HippyCraig is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: 07-27-2006
Location: Philly
Posts: 211
Ok so this is to support backward compatiablitly, that make sense. Thanks for taking the time to explain it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Copyright © 1999-2023 Kinook Software, Inc.