PDA

View Full Version : CS0246 Error – Assembly Reference Issue


dmytchak
06-02-2004, 01:15 PM
Good day. I searched the forum without finding anything that pertains to my issue. The problem that I have is with my references with VS.NET 2003. We have a standard build tree but the very prefix changes on whether the build is a developer’s build, hourly, weekly, production. For example:

D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component A
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component B
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component C
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component D

D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project B\component E
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project B\component F
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project B\component G

D:\Hourly.AddIn.2.7.23.09\project C\component E
D:\Hourly.AddIn.2.7.23.09\project C\component F


All works well if the references are located in the same parent project (i.e. Product). However, when I add a reference to an external project (i.e. AddIn) the IDE adds a hard-code reference to the project’s HintPath.


D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component A
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component B
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component C
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project A\component D

D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project B\component E
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project B\component F
D:\Hourly.product.2.7.23.09\project B\component G [References Component E from AddIn.<version>Project C and fails]

D:\Hourly.AddIn.2.7.23.09\project C\component E
D:\Hourly.AddIn.2.7.23.09\project C\component F


[component G csproj snipit]
<Reference
Name = "AddIn.Component E"
AssemblyName = " AddIn.Component E"
HintPath = "dmytchak.2.7\ AddIn.Component E\bin\Release\ AddIn.component E.dll" <- problem – dmytchak2.7 is my build tree. Build box is Hourly, Weekly, Prod/Label
/>
<Reference
Name = "Project A.Component A"
AssemblyName = " Project A.Component A
HintPath = "..\ Project A.Component A \bin\Release\Component A.dll"
/>


Since it looks like VS.NET does not support variables in the csproj files, Does Kinook offer a solution?

kinook
06-04-2004, 09:57 AM
Maybe project references [1] would help here? Otherwise, perhaps you could use the Replace in File action (or some script that uses MSXML [2]) to fix up your project files as needed before building.

[1] http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dnbda/html/tdlg_ch3.asp
[2] http://www.kinook.com/Forum/showthread.php?threadid=427

dmytchak
06-04-2004, 10:44 AM
Thanks for the reply. I ended up up using the Replace In file action. Works well for the issue.

Thank you again for the reply.